This Year’s Winners

Winners 2018

Ballymakenny Farm

Maria Flynn
Visit website
In the category headed Land, this year’s winner is Maria Flynn of Ballymakenny Heritage Potatoes. Almost single-handedly making read more

Corleggy Cheese

Silke & Tom Cropp
Visit website
Award-winners in the category Artisan Produce are mother and son team, Silke and Tom Cropp of Corleggy Cheese. read more

Dooncastle Oysters

John Ward
Visit website
Under the heading Water, this year’s Island Nation award winner is the expert oyster farmer John Ward of read more

Thornhill Duck

Kenneth Moffitt
Visit website
The winner of the Farm award is Kenneth Moffitt of Thornhill Duck, producer of quality duck products for read more

Woodcock Smokery

Sally Barnes
Visit website
Sally Barnes of Woodcock Smokery wins the Craft award, for Protection of Culinary Skills and Craft. The self-taught read more

Georgina Campbell

Ireland Guide
Visit website
This year’s special sixth award goes to Georgina Campbell, honoured by the Euro-Toques Food Awards for her significant read more
No results

The Euro-Toques Food Awards 2018 presented by Eirgrid took place in the walled garden at Ashford Castle in County Mayo on 28th May, with winners introduced by MCs Sally & John McKenna. The awards ceremony was followed by a wonderful feast of Irish produce, including this year’s awards winning products, created by Ashford Castle Head Chef, Philippe Farineau. All Euro-Toques producer members, nominees and former winners were invited to be part of the afternoon’s celebrations and were given the opportunity to showcase their produce, making this a genuinely rich and impressive celebratory showcase of the finest the island has to offer.

This year six awards were given with five being awarded under new category distinctions – Water, Land, Farm, Artisan Produce, Craft – and a sixth special award for outstanding contribution.

This year’s five producer award winners are John Ward of Dooncastle Oysters, Kenneth Moffitt of Thornhill Duck, Maria Flynn of Ballymakenny Heritage Potatoes, Silke Cropp and her son Tom Cropp of Corleggy Cheese, Sally Barnes of Woodcock Smokery with the special sixth award going to Georgina Campbell, honoured by the Euro-Toques Food Awards for her significant and lasting contribution to the Irish food and hospitality industry.

The awards were presented in the presence of chef Graham Neville, the Euro-Toques Commissioner General, Anthony O’Toole, the Chair of the Euro-Toques Food Council who select the award recipients, David Martin, Eirgrid Public Relations Executive, and the general membership of Euro-Toques.

This is the ninth year that EirGrid, operator of the national electricity transmission system, is partnering with Euro-Toques. Aidan Skelly, Interim CEO of awards partners EirGrid, said: “These awards are very important to us, as we believe in small businesses and in recognising their achievements. Every small business is part of a bigger network of people who rely on each other, creating the systems that support all growth. We’re proud to support these awards for the ninth year, celebrating the contribution of small businesses and producers to the economy, and acknowledging the invaluable contribution of Euro-Toques to the growth of the country’s outstanding food reputation.

These awards represent the ongoing mission of Euro-Toques chefs,” said chef Graham Neville, the Euro-Toques Commissioner General, “in celebrating the real connections we as chefs have with the growers and makers who produce the exceptional ingredients we are lucky to have access to on this island. Irish farmers and food producers are inspirational, and we are delighted to annually award the Euro-Toques Food Awards to some of these accomplished and dedicated food talents. Our congratulations go to all this year’s excellent winners.