Past Winners

Food Awards


Gold River Farm, Aughrim, Co Wicklow: for their organic pork

Comeragh Mountain Lamb, Co Waterford: for their unique hill lamb

A Growing Pleasure, Naas, Co Kildare: for their micro-herbs and salads and free range, rare-breed pork

Tiernan Family Farm, Dunleer, Co Louth: for their raw milk cheese producers

The Organic Centre, Rosinver, Co Leitrim: the educational facility on organic horticulture received a special award for their contribution to Irish food.


Cuinneog Butter, Co Mayo: for their country butter made in line with Ireland’s long tradition in the art of butter making

Glenfin Free Range Duck Eggs, Tydavnet, Co Monaghan: for their conscientious efforts in helping to bring duck eggs back to the Irish market

Brenda O’Riordan, Co Cork: for collecting the best fish freshly caught from day boats

O’Flynn Meats, Waterford: for the quality of their beef, as they are responsible for every step of its journey from farm to table;

David Langford of Lissadell House, Co Sligo: for preserving and reviving many traditional varieties of potatoes, including rare and heritage potatoes


Woodside Farm, Leamlara, Co Cork: for their free range pork and pork products

Happy Heart Organic in Urlingford, Co Kilkenny: for the rapeseed oil from their Drumeen farm

The Apple Farm, near Cahir, Co Tipperary: for their range of apple and fruit varieties and excellent juices and fruit produce

Solaris Botanicals, Co Galway: for their organic whole-leaf specialty and herbal teas

Connemara Hill Lamb: special award for registration of Connemara Hill Lamb as a Protected Geographical Indication (PGI) under the EU food quality scheme


M&D Bakery (now Walsh’s Bakehouse), Hickey’s in Waterford City, Harney’s of Kilmacow and Barron’s of Cappoquinn, Co Waterford: for the preservation of a traditional regional product, the Waterford blaa

McGeough’s Butchers of Oughterard, Co Galway: for developing and producing top quality cured meats

Cloonacool Arctic Charr: for producing a native fish in a way which is sustainable and respectful to the environment and natural conditions of the fish

Green Saffron, Midleton, Co Cork: for their high quality spices sourced directly from small plantations in India

Henry O’Neill, chief executive of the Restaurants Association of Ireland: special award for his contribution to the Irish restaurant industry


Glenilen Dairy, Drimoleague, Co Cork: for diversifying a traditional dairy farm into production of quality dairy-based products

Michael McGrath Butcher, Lismore, Co Waterford: for maintaining traditional methods and for retaining their on-premises abattoir

Flahavan’s Mills, Kilmacthomas, Co Waterford: for maintaining high production standards in keeping with traditional methods and environmental concerns

Terry Butterly, Coastguard Seafoods, Annagassan, Co Louth: for his special interest in conservation and the service he provides in informing chefs about the seasonality and availability of fish

Ditty’s Home Bakery, Castledawson, Northern Ireland: for promoting regional diversity and developing new artisan produce


Glebe Brethan, Dunleer, Co Louth: for their delicious cheeses made on the Tiernan family farm

Ariosa Coffee Company, Ashbourne, Co Meath: for their innovative specialty coffee beans

Born Free Chickens, Co Waterford and Co Cork: for the joint venture producing free range organic chickens producers between Paul Crotty in Dunmore East, Co Waterford and Dan & JJ Ahern in Dungourney, Co Cork

Louis Smith, culinary arts lecturer at Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology: for sharing his vast knowledge and passion for Irish mushrooms with many chefs

Veronica Steele of Milleens Cheese: for producing Milleens in the 1970s and beyond when no other Irish farmhouse cheese was available; Veronica also taught many of Ireland’s top cheese producers the art of cheese-making