Euro-Toques Ireland announces the 14 contestants selected for this years Young Chef of the Year competition semi-finals

Euro-Toques Ireland is pleased to announce that 14 young chefs have been selected from nearly 40 applicants from across the country to participate in this year’s Euro-Toques Young Chef of the Year competition, presented by principal partners La Rousse Foods.

Following a social media and a written recipe submission, the interviews to identify the semi-finalists took place on Monday 13th May in Dublin. The 14 young chefs under 28 through to the next round of the competition are Cillian  McCarthy -The Morrison Room, Carton House with mentor Adam Nevin; David Harte – The Searooms at Kelly’s Resort with mentor Chris Fullam; Anna Hevers – Goldie, Cork with mentor Aishling Moore; Nell McCarthy – dede with mentor Ahmet Dede; Victor Erisay – Chapter One by Mickael Viljanen with mentor Mickael Viljanen; Aoife Comerford – Glover’s Alley with mentor Conor Morrissey; Joao Carlos De Oliveira de Lima – Michael’s with mentor Gaz Smith; Stiofán Feeney – Ballynahinch Castle with mentor Danni Barry; Tom Donohoe – Orwell Road with mentor Dan Hannigan; Ian Harford – Aniar with mentor JP McMahon; Bryan Bridgeman – Homestead cottage with mentor Robbie McCaul; Gráinne Brown – The Morrison Room, Carton House with mentor Adam Nevin; Rob Martin – Mulcahys restaurant with mentor Bruce Mulcahy; Marcell Palfalusi – Thyme Restaurant with mentor John Coffey.

The 14 selected young chefs have the opportunity to advance to the semi-finals of the Euro-Toques Young Chef of the Year competition presented by La Rousse Foods. The semi-finals will take place on Sunday, June 23rd in the professional kitchens of Dublin Cookery School, Blackrock, Co. Dublin. If successful in the semi-finals, they will progress to the final round in October.

The overarching theme for this year’s competition is “Inspiring Regeneration,” focusing on food waste, food awareness, and food miles, which are prevalent topics in our daily lives. Euro-Toques Ireland will organize various tailor-made educational activities to inspire young chefs, such as masterclasses, inspirational trips, and workshops as they advance in their journey.

The Euro-Toques Young Chef of the Year competition, presented by La Rousse Foods, is Ireland’s leading culinary competition that celebrates the best emerging culinary talent. It is open to professional chefs under the age of 28 and is known for discovering exceptional young talent. Former winners include Mark Moriarty, who went on to win the World San Pellegrino Young Chef Competition in 2015, Conor Halpenny, who reached the regional finals of the 2022 edition, and Grainne Mullins, who was featured on the prestigious Forbes 30 under 30 list of leading young innovators, entrepreneurs, and leaders in 2023. For the young chefs participating, this contest offers a unique experience that brings recognition across Ireland and beyond, and serves as a prestigious stepping-stone in their culinary career. 

Shauna Murphy, the 2023 winner from Terre restaurant at Castlemartyr Resort, shared her experience, saying, “The entire process is incredible! The unique learning opportunities it offers are truly valuable, and I thoroughly enjoyed the journey. I recently returned from my stage with Paolo Casagrande at Martín Berasategui’s three-starred Lasarte restaurant in Barcelona, and I can confidently say it was an experience that will stay with me for a long time. I am grateful to Euro-Toques Ireland for the opportunity and encourage any young chef who did not make it through this year to come back and try again.”

Pictured are the 2023 Young Chef competition finalists and Judges.


For further information please contact Manuela Spinelli 

Head of Community

Euro-Toques Ireland – The European Community of Chefs & Cooks 

Mob. 086-0485802|OFFICE 085-8520760